Hitting the end of the road

Non-citizen passport

Few months after I made up my mind and decided to work on the non-citizenship subject for my first tv news documentary, and also after dozens of interviews and posts in this blog, I can say that the job is done.

The final piece is finished, though I am now gathering some important – for me – reviews before handing it in.

I am chuffed as nuts to see that all the hard work has finally paid off. Intense months where people around me had to bear with my ups and downs due to the stressing process of such a big project.

Of course there are always bits in the final output that I – and whoever knows about these things would agree with me –
would change. I keep thinking… “Should I move some clips around or change anything? Do I need more footage?” and so on.

I am an extremely perfectionist person, so I know this little bugger will always be whispering such thing into my ears. No matter where I am or what I do.

In the next couple of weeks I will be posting up some more bits of each interviewee, so you can get a broader glimpse of all what they say.  At the same time, the final documentary will be available to watch online any time soon – probably at the beginning of September.

Finally, I want to say that while writing this post, I noticed that this site has reached the 2,000 visitors since it was created back in February. Honestly, thank you so much. I never expected to have that many views. However, that also means that people have been getting engaged with the project as it was growing month by month. Thank you so much again for your patience and dedication to read and watch all what I’ve been sharing with you!

3 Comments

Filed under Opinion, Project

3 responses to “Hitting the end of the road

  1. Wow congrats on hitting the end of the road, it’s been a journey!!

    Good luck with finishing it up, easy on that perfectionist bugger, lol

  2. I just wanted to say a big thank you for writing and maintaining an excellent blog / website / online resource!

    The issues raised by your website and film are long term, culturally embedded and highly sensitive. I think you have done a great job at explaining and exploring them.

    In my opinion, what you have done is start a much longer process of discussion and debate that needs to be had in both Latvia and the rest of Europe. Is it really acceptable for an EU Member State to have such a situation in 2011? I think not!

    Once again, well done on what has been a great piece of work!

  3. Thank you for the comment and especially for reading the blog! Apart from non-citizens’ situation, I gotta say that such comments and people like you help the project to get its sense altogether.

    I hope to have made available more resources for those who want to know about the subject and/or have a deeper understanding of it. A debate is needed in order to sort the situation of these people.

    I will be posting up the final documentary soon, I hope you can give me some feedback as well. It would be much appreciated.

    Again, many thanks!

Leave a Reply

