Flying out to Latvija

The time has come for Igor Trepeshchenok and I to head off to Latvija and start working on the documentary we have been planning for the last few months.

I personally will be in Latvija tomorrow by this time, if nothing unexpected happens – I’ll try to post up the first impressions and pictures as soon as I can. Igor will be flying out in the next couple of days.

During the last few weeks I have been thinking about the whole TV documentary; How could I structure it? Should I do this or that? Do I have everything I need to deliver the best output possible? Finally, I came to the conclusion that there’s no point in being too worried about that, for I am the sort of person who leaves everything up to the interviewees. I explain myself.

Human stories are vital for these kind of pieces. There’s no doubt about it. So give your film enough flexibility to adapt itself to the type of interviewees you have and let them be ‘free’ and set the pace of the interview. I do believe the more freedom you give to your stories, the more comfortable they will feel. Therefore, it will help to get the best out of every single ‘voice’.

It has worked out well for me so far, so why should I change my attitude towards it?

I am excited and nervous at the same time. This is a big challenge, but I know we can make it. And make it if not perfect, almost!

At the moment, there are a lot of things going on in Latvija. Hopefully, I will post bits and pieces about them as well, so you can have a better idea of what the country is like.

So Latvija, here we go!! Tomorrow pictures and first hours on the ground!

Leave a comment

Filed under Project

Leave a Reply

